Here’s Another Bracket You Can Watch Go Up In Smoke

I should have known better. Every year, by the end of the first weekend of the basketball tournament, my brackets are just so much smoldering wreckage. Every year, I think the NCAA Hockey tournament can save my enjoyment of filling out brackets.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand that statistically speaking, my chances of picking a perfect bracket in a 64-team field are 9,223,372,036,854,775,808 to 1 (that’s 9.2 quintillion, sports fans – which means you are 24 billion times more likely to win the lottery). I mention this only because I discovered the flaw in my belief that a sixteen-team bracket would be far easier to predict. While technically it is, to do it perfectly is still leaves the odds at 380 billion to 1.

7 responses

  1. Still in it JDub! Ohio State St. still in the tourney and I think they have what it takes to get passed the Cuse. Louisville was unexpected, but I guess that’s what March Madness is all about. Who do you have in the Final Four?

    1. I had Baylor, Florida State, North Carolina, and Michigan State with Sparty winning it all. So much for that…

  2. Wow! It’s unbelievable how many different combinations of picks that can be made.

  3. Believe it or not, I’m doing fairly well in most of my brackets, he says as he knocks on wood.

    Need Ohio State, Kentucky, UNC and obviously, your Florida Gators to advance the rest of the weekend to really put a smile on my face, however.

    1. My brackets…picture the Hindenburg crashing into the Titanic while Joba Chamberlain plays on a trampoline.

  4. I turned on a couple of games over the weekend and continue to be puzzled by college hockey’s invisible tournament crowds. Regionals should be held on somebody’s home ice, advantage be damned. The Women’s Basketball Tournament needs to go back to that asap also. Put some juice in these things. A couple of those hockey Regional finals looked like they were in a studio somewhere. On the subject of Men’s Basketball brackets, had North Carolina had their best player I would have had three of the Final Four. KY, and OSU came through for me. The West Region which Louisviille came out of was shot for me by midday Friday of Week One. “Rock Chalk Jayhawk” left me with only 2 of the last 4 participants…Kentucky was to cut down the nets against UNC…I guess it will be Kansas now. I had 6 of the 8 Sweet Sixteen winners. I can live with my guesses for this year.

    1. I don’t want to talk brackets… you’ll see why soon.

      But I love the idea of the “home ice” thing. It was a sham watching some of those games being played in front plastic chairs. College hockey has tons of dedicated fans, but is is a regional sport with localized interest.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

