What Do My Brackets Have in Common With a Push-Up Bra?

I should have known better. Every year, by the end of the first weekend of the basketball tournament, my brackets are just so much smoldering wreckage. Every year, I think the Hockey tournament can save my enjoyment of filling out brackets.  And every year, I am as wrong as a push-up bra for eight-year-olds.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand that statistically speaking, my chances of picking a perfect bracket in a 64-team field are 9,223,372,036,854,775,808 to 1 (that’s 9.2 quintillion, sports fans – which means you are 24 billion times more likely to win the lottery). I mention this only because I discovered the flaw in my belief that a sixteen-team bracket would be far easier to predict. While technically it is, to do it perfectly is still leaves the odds at 380 billion to 1.

One response

  1. Just out of curiosity, how long do you think it would take to fill out 9,223,372,036,854,775,808 brackets? This way, If I start now, maybe I can get one right next year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

